Apply Here

but different

Meet the Governors

North East Futures UTC is proud to be a member of Tyne Coast Academy Trust – Visit their site for details of Trust governance

Local Governing Body

Professor Michael Whitaker - Chair of Governors
Derek Marshall - Vice Chair of Governors
Giselle Stewart OBE - Sponsor Governor, Ubisoft
Dr. Nicola Hutchinson - Sponsor Governor, Academic Health Science Network
Professor Alistair Irons - Sponsor Governor, the University of Sunderland
Mark Larsen - Governor
Stephanie Walton - Finance Governor, Chair or Resources and Recruitment Sub Comittee
Professor Gary Holmes - Advisory Governor
Gill Cresswell - Advisory Governor, Chair of Educational Standards Sub Committee
Emma Blair - Parent Governor
Paul Naughton - Parent Governor
Lauren Taylor - Staff Governor

Tyne Coast Academy Trust Board of Trustees
Tyne Coast Academy Trust governance structure
Tyne Coast Academy Trust Members
Tyne Coast Academy Trust Scheme of Delegation and Terms of Reference
Governor Attendance Records

Professor Michael Whitaker

emeritus Professor of Physiology at Newcastle University

Chair of Governors

Since 2000, Michael has been closely involved in forming and delivering the North East regional Strategy for Success in the Healthcare and Life Science areas, particularly in the areas of ageing, stem cell biology and regenerative medicine. He has been active nationally at the Wellcome Trust and has also served as secretary of the British Society for Cell Biology and as a member of the UK Stem Cell Network Steering Committee. He is a Fellow of the Society of Biology, the Marine Biological Association and the Academy of Medical Sciences. In addition he is a board member of Bionow and the Cell & Gene Therapy Catapult and a trustee of the Marine Biological Association. He is a director of Galen Biomed, the HealthyLife SIM Community Interest Company and the ATMP Manufacturing Community and also holds directorships in companies in the renewables energy sector: Aeolian Energy, Ceres Energy and Tethra Energy.

Michael is the convenor of First for Pharma, a pharma manufacturing network in the North East of England that represents a local industry sector that exports £1bn in products annually and constitutes a third of the UK's pharma manufacturing output. He is a founding governor of a new school, North East Futures UTC, that will specialise in Health Sciences and IT with strong links to employers.

Michael is emeritus Professor of Physiology in the Faculty of Medical Sciences at Newcastle. He is co-Director of the joint Durham/ Newcastle/NHS North East England Stem Cell Institute.

Dan Sydes

Principal, North East Futures UTC

Local Governor

Dan is currently Principal at North East Futures UTC, a 14-19 School opened in Newcastle September 2018 specialising in the Digital Technology and Healthcare Science industries, two of the fastest growing areas of employment in the North East.

Dan has 18 years experience in education in a variety of settings and 13 years experience as an educational leader. His first subject is Computing and second subject is Business. He has previously held the position of Vice Principal at UTC Reading, an OFSTED Outstanding School.

Derek Marshall

Health Education England North East

Vice-Chair of  Local Governing Body

Dr. Nicola Wesley

The Academic Health Science Network, North East and North Cumbria

Stephanie Walton

Chair of the Resources and Recruitment Sub Committee

Mark Larsen

Retired Managing Director, Accenture Newcastle

Professor Alastair Irons

Gary Holmes

Emma Blair

Parent Governor

Paul Naughton

Parent Governor