North East Futures UTC

BTEC Extended Diploma Computing

Subject content

The students will cover the following units:
Unit 1: Principles of Computer Science
Unit 2: Fundamentals of Computer Systems
Unit 3: Planning and Management of Computer Projects
Unit 4: Software Design and Development Project – (Synoptic)
Unit 7: IT Systems Security and Encryption
Unit 8: Business Applications of Social Media
Unit 9: The Impact of Computing.

Students will cover a choice of the following:
Unit 10: Human-Computer Interaction
Unit 14: Computer Games Development
Unit 16: Object-Oriented Programming
Unit 19: Computer Networking
Unit 15: Website Design
Unit 22: Systems Analysis and Design


How’s it assessed?
Written exams for units 1 and 2
Externally marked tasks and assignments for unit 3 and 4
Internally marked assignments for all other units

Other year 12 options

A Level routeBTEC routeBlended route
Students pick 3 or 4 A LevelsStudents pick 1 BTEC and also can take L3 MathsStudents take a single BTEC and 2 A Levels
MathematicsExtended Diploma ComputingExtended Certificate Applied Science
Further MathematicsExtended Diploma Biomedical ScienceExtended Certificate Computing
PhysicsLevel 3 Mathematical Studies+ 2 A Levels from column 1 that don't cause an overlap in content
Computer Science